Monday, October 4, 2010

Meeting the Players

The opening plenary of AWG-LCA (Long-term cooperative action) directly followed the welcoming ceremony. The chair, Margaret Mukahanana-Sangarwe (Zimbabwe) described the framework that she would follow in the coming week. After that, the floor was open to the parties – and we heard from the chairs of each of the different groups.  The groups are listed below, along with the country of the chair representing them:

G77 and China (Yemen)
African Group (Congo)
AOSIS - Alliance of Small Island States (Grenada)
LDCs – Least Developed Countries (Losotho)
EU – European Union
Umbrella Group (Australia; this group also includes U.S. and Canada)
Environmental Integrity Group (Switzerland; this group also includes
SICA – Central American Integration System (Belize)
ALBA – Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America (Venezuela)
Arab Group (Egypt)

No comments:

Post a Comment